2012 Classic Wine Trophy winners announced

The winners of 14th annual Classic Wine Trophy Awards 2012 were announced at a gala event at the Table Bay Hotel on Friday 9th March. The overall winning winery taking home the Bacchus trophy was Glen Carlou winning the Bacchus award and winning wines in both the white and red categories.
The entries which were adjudicated by a panel of French judges again this year, were over 300 in number yet only 17 medals were awarded to wines placed in 5 categories so as to ensure credibility:


  • Sparkling Wine Category: Boschendal Grand Cuvee Brut 2007
  • White Wine Category: Hamilton Russell Vineyards Chardonnay 2010
  • Red Wine Category: Super Single Vineyards Mount Sutherland
  • Dessert Wine Category: Perdeberg Weisser Riesling Reserve 2012

Some of the highlights on this year’s panel included Benoit Prevost, Wine master and technical director of Michel Rolland Vineyards and Cellars in France as well as Olivier Poels, Editor and journalist for La Revue du Vin de Château.
Christophe Durand, announced the full list of winners during the course of the evening while guests were treated to an exquisite three course dinner by the Table Bay Hotel, prepared to match the winning wines of the evening. The winning wines in the categories were:

Boschendal Grand Cuvee Brut 2007
Hamilton Russell Vineyards Chardonnay 2010
Julien Schaal Wines Chardonnay 2011
Saronsberg Viognier 2010
Tokara Reserve Chardonnay Stellenbosch 2010
Teddy Hall Wines Dr Jan Cats Chenin 2010
Glen Carlou Chardonnay 2010
Perdeberg Weisser Riesling Reserve 2010
Super Single Vineyards Mount Sutherland Syrah 2009
Glen Carlou Gravel Quarry Shiraz 2008
Groot Constantia Shiraz 2009
KWV Mentors Shiraz 2009
Cape Chamonix Reserve Pinot Noir 2010
Groot Constantia Pinotage 2010
Delaire Graaf Botmaskop Red Blend 2009
Perdeberg Reserve Shiraz 2010
Malagas Sijnn Red Blend 2008

Overall winner of the trophy Arco Laarman, winemaker of Glen Carlou wines, received the Bacchus Trophy as well as a barrel from both Gillet and Darnajou coopers. When asked to speak the french judges were, as it has often been the case in the past, impressed with the quality of wine and this year in particular the red wines.



For further queries please contact:
Sabrina Durand
083 415 7211

By | 2012-03-14T11:48:11+00:00 March 14th, 2012|Press|Comments Off on 2012 Classic Wine Trophy winners announced